Sherlock holmes book series


Sherlock Holmes is a fictional private detective created by British author Sir Arthur Conan Doyle . An estimate of Holmes's age in "His Last Bow" places his year of birth at Sherlock Holmes on John Watson's "pamphlet", The Sign of the Four . Shortly after meeting Holmes in the first story, A Study in Scarlet ( generally. Traditionally, the canon of Sherlock Holmes consists of the 56 short stories and four novels . magazine publication, Conan Doyle included "The Adventure of the Cardboard Box" only in the His Last Bow collection). These works, each with slightly different contents, discussed several titles and their place in the canon. Sherlock Holmes is a fictional consulting detective in London ~ created by Scottish author and His Last Bow & The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Short Stories .. Sherlock Holmes, Volume 1: A Study in Scarlet & Other Sherlock Holmes Stories.

Language:English, Spanish, French
Genre:Business & Career
Published (Last):23.11.2015
Distribution:Free* [*Register to download]
Uploaded by: LUCIA

49036 downloads 92567 Views 18.85MB ePub Size Report

Sherlock Holmes Book Series

Find the complete Sherlock Holmes book series listed in order. Great deals on one book The Valley of Fear - Book #7 of the Sherlock Holmes. The Valley of Fear His Last Bow: Some Reminiscences of Sherlock Holmes. Arthur Conan . A Study in Scarlet & The Sign of the Four - Book of the Sherlock Holmes. A Study in. "Elementary," "Sherlock," "House," "Sherlock Holmes": These are just some of the more obvious adaptations of the great A Study in Scarlet Book Cover Picture. A Study in Scarlet is a really special Sherlock Holmes book for any Holmes fan. Set in , The Sign of the Four is a fascinating story about Holmes and . The Valley of Fear is one of the few Sherlock Holmes books which is based on real In the story His Last Bow – the last story of this collection – Sherlock Holmes is a .

This story is the only one where Holmes' failure to solve a case is documented although he later admits to having been defeated four times, as a passing reference. The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes "Any truth is better than indefinite doubt. They are presented as Holmes describing the two cases, which took place before he met Watson, in the first person, with just a small introduction from Watson. He was a college student at the time of the case, and encouraging remarks about his ability from the victim in the case led to Sherlock considering making a living as a detective. The Hound of the Baskervilles "The world is full of obvious things which nobody by any chance ever observes. It described a supposedly supernatural curse on the Baskervilles, and the ultimately human machination behind it.

Sherlock Holmes Books: Complete List and Fun Facts

Which means around , dollars. This hound is not just another hound, however. Now the obvious question is: The Hound of the Baskervilles is actually based on a real legend forgive the oxymoron!

Not a word! Into your clothes and come! For instance, imagine what would happen if your wife received notes that contained funny pictures of dancing men every week.

Burglers have attacked a man and taken some silverware. The police is satisfied.

Holmes has to find out who did it. Another very interesting thing is that the house in which the man was murdered is surrounded by a moat a ditch filled with water. But then, good old Holmes is no less than an Olympic swimming champion when it comes to clearing deep waters. Want one more reason to read it? The twists, again. I bet that the twist in each part of the story will make you gasp. You might be tempted to start with the story published first in that collection, A Scandal in Bohemia.

It is an outlier in the Holmesian saga, an unusual and compelling tale that I think is best appreciated only after you get to know the detective. It shows parts of his personality that are only rarely apparent elsewhere - love, even - and involves a case unlike any other. It is atypical, and while it might interest you, I'd recommend starting with something more ordinary.

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes and The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes are rather similar in style, I feel, and so the stories can be read in various orders.

There is extremely little overall plot change within them, and while in a certain story Holmes may reference past cases, they are largely self-contained. Doyle's style is roughly constant, if memory serves. This collection can be picked up and put down at any point.

I would, however, advise reading The Final Problem last out of all of them - for continuity's sake - as you acknowledged in the question.

It is perhaps one of the most important short stories in the initial arc. I also happen to like reading The Adventure of the Naval Treaty directly before this, because I love it, but it's not mandatory. After a while, you may get bored.

Each short story will challenge you, but the format can get tiresome after 24 of them. I encourage you to try one of the longer standalone works. I would prefer A Study in Scarlet or The Sign of the Four , which go into Holmes' methodology in more detail and present a story arc - which you don't see as much in any of the short stories.

Chronology of Sherlock Holmes Stories

Both of these books were published before any of the short stories, but they can be challenging to slog through. I'd wait until you're comfortable with the style before going on to these. I suggest mixing them in after reading perhaps ten or twelve short stories - or earlier, if you want.

Watson is a friend but works as assistant and sometimes roommate to Sherlock. Most of the stories are narrated through Dr. A study in Scarlet is the first book that introduces detective Sherlock Holmes and his assistant Dr.

Where to Start: The Must-Read Sherlock Holmes Stories

John Watson. Story begins when Dr. Watson returns to London from Anglo-Afghan War due to shoulder injury.

However, with no place to live, his friend Stamford introduces him to Holmes. Watson starts living together. Soon Dr. Holmes receives a telegram from Scotland Yard requesting help in murder case on the Brixton Road. Man murdered was Enoch Drebber from Cleveland. On investigating crime scene, Holmes notices few evidences including carb prints, footprints, and word Rache written over the wall by blood. In addition, a wedding ring falls off when dead body is being carried out and a note to Joseph Stangerson, the secretary of Drebber.

Even before Holmes could analyze the facts, Stangerson is also murdered. The method used for killing is stabbing different from poison in case of Drebber. Soon Holmes learns this fact and announces Jefferson Hope, a cab driver, as the real killer. This is the end of the first point of the book.

Second point reveals why Hope killed two people. For Hope, Drebber and Stangerson were responsible for the death of his love interest Lucy and her father John Ferrier.

Sherlock Holmes Books: The Complete List

Moreover, Dr. Watson gets first-hand experience of how Holmes worked backwards to solve the case. The second installment in the series is The Sign of the Four. Plot is set in , involving East India Company, Indian Revolt of , stolen treasure, and a pact of four convicts.